Tags

,

One day, my friend with whom I share almost twin tastes in entertainment, messaged me and told me “Can you believe there is an Indian Boys Over Flowers?” Now, considering we’ve seen practically every version of the show ever made, and yes that includes the atrocious Boys Before Friends, we consider ourselves experts on the subject. My first reaction was “Are you kidding me?! Why can’t everyone just leave a good thing alone?” but eventually, I decided to give it a try, after all I did sit through twenty minutes of Boys Before Friends.

But before I proceed, I should probably give a little introduction to the show.

When Nandini Murthy, a middle class orphan girl living with her aunt, uncle and brother, and Navya Naveli, a girl from Bihar who moves to Mumbai with big dreams of becoming a rockstar, save a boy about to commit suicide on a rooftop in the prestigious S.P.A.C.E academy after being mercilessly bullied by the Fab5, they are immediately offered scholarship to the school to silence the media attention to the bullying event. However, they find out just how much trouble they have caused for themselves because they end up becoming targets of the Fab5.

The Fab5 is a band of five spoilt rich kids with a sense of entitlement the size of a small country and egos to match. There’s Manik Malhotra, the leader of the band and ferociously ill-tempered, Dhruv Vedant, the quiet sensitive one, Alya Saxena, Manik’s girlfriend, Mukhti Vardhan, the female Manik in the group, and Cabir Dhawan, who harbors a huge, huge secret.

Since I have watched all the versions of Boys Over Flowers there are,  I can’t help but compare this one to them even though I know I shouldn’t because that would affect how I might enjoy this one. My favourite version is and will always be the original Japanese one, Hana Yori Dango, but I suppose this one deserves its own merits. There are some major differences between all the others and this one, for example, Manik doesn’t have an older sister which is sad cause she was my favourite character in all the other versions, his mother isn’t as involved in his life in this version as she is in all the other versions, there are five members instead of four, and this version’s Makino Tsukushi is perhaps the most lily-livered one. She’s tough sometimes, but she’s annoying because all she does is cry when the Japanese and the Korean ones would have thrown a few punches and spinning back kicks.

But, there is one thing I like in this one that I wished was in the Korean one, for example, when the couple finally get together, they are way more lovey-dovey than Gu Jun-pyo and Geum Jan-di ever were in all of their 25 episodes together, and they definitely have way more chemistry than those two.

I don’t know if this version really needed to be made but I suppose it’s not a crime to try and adapt an age-old story to fit different audiences, after all Bollywood has been known to jump on bandwagons of extremely popular television, so why should this one be any different? I shall go back and continue watching this version until I get sick of it and stop, because that’s not a crime too.

Hmm, perhaps my country might decide to adapt this show too. Wonder who they’ll cast…

Manik Malhotra

Manik Malhotra

Aliya Saxena

Aliya Saxena

Dhruv Vedant

Dhruv Vedant

Mukhti Vardhan

Mukhti Vardhan

Cabir Dhawan

Cabir Dhawan

Nandini Murthy

Nandini Murthy

Navya Naveli

Navya Naveli

Kaisi Yeh Yaariaan Poster

Kaisi Yeh Yaariaan Poster

Image Credit to all the original owners

